04/26/2010 10:35

ROSEMONT, Pa. – The Rosemont Athletic department culminated the 2009-2010 season with its annual athletics banquet. The banquet, designed to honor all the accomplishments on and off the field of the student-athletes, is held every year at the end of the sports season. This year’s banquet was held on the evening of Saturday, April 24th. Over 170 student-athletes, parents, family and friends gathered in Cardinal Hall to celebrate the year.

The banquet kicked off with Dean of Students Deidre Shaffer officially welcoming all guests to the banquet. Senior field hockey and lacrosse player and Rosemont Student-Athlete Advisory Committee President Elizabeth Kemp followed with the invocation. From there, each team was recognized with the captains of each giving season summaries. Each team member was then recognized.

Next, the Rosemont scholar-athletes, those who maintained a 3.3 minimum cumulative GPA or higher in their season, were honored. Twenty players received the honor this year. The Athletic Director’s Honor Roll was announced next. This award is given to the team that maintains the highest overall GPA in their season. This year, the women’s volleyball team earned the honor, knocking out field hockey who had received the award in the previous year. The team’s overall GPA was 3.11.

Colonial States Athletic Conference awards were up next on the program. For Rosemont, 27 student-athletes were members of the CSAC All-Academic Team. This team is comprised of student-athletes with a semester GPA of 3.2 or higher in their season of play. In addition, Rosemont student-athletes who were named to the All-Conference teams, Sportsmanship Teams and Player of the Week honors were named. 

Student-Athletes with special athletic accomplishments were recognized next. Junior Priyanka Reddy (Syosset, N.Y/Syosset) was the 2009 CSAC Player of the Year in women’s tennis. Men’s Soccer Head Coach Will Nord was also honored for being named the CSAC Men’s Soccer Coach of the Year.

The main athletic awards were up next. Senior Elizabeth Kemp was the recipient of the Ann Grady Lucas award. This award is given to a field hockey player that demonstrates strong leadership and dedication to her team. It is only voted on by field hockey team members and coaches. This is Kemp’s second time receiving the award, she earned the recognition in 2007.

Junior Karen Boyle was the winner of the Cathy Mulvaney Award. The Mulvaney award is given to any Rosemont student-athlete that demonstrates excellence on the field and in the classroom as well as showing strong leadership and dedication. It is voted on by Rosemont student-athletes and athletic staff. Boyle is a three-sport athlete in volleyball, basketball and lacrosse, captaining both volleyball and basketball. A three year member of Rosemont Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, Boyle was also named President of the RSAAC for the 2010-11 term.

Two new awards were given out next: Outstanding Female and Male Athlete. These awards are given to one female and one male athlete that have demonstrated athletic excellence. The award is decided by committee. This year’s recipients were senior women’s tennis player Priyanka Reddy and sophomore men’s basketball player Harrison Carsillo. Reddy was a perfect 13-0 at first singles and named CSAC Player of the Year as well as a CSAC First Team All-Conference choice. Carsillo was the leading scorer and rebounder on the inaugural men’s basketball team and ranked in multiple categories among his peers in the CSAC and NCAA.

Last up was the Ann S. Donaldson Award. It is only given out to a junior or senior with a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.2 or higher and has shown excellence on the field, in the classroom and the Rosemont community. It is voted on by all members of the Rosemont community. This year’s recipient was Boyle. On all of her teams, she was a top performer and has taken that excellence to the classroom collecting numerous athletic and academic accolades. 

The banquet closed with remarks by President Hirsh. President Hirsh was thankful for all the hard work by the students, staff and parents in making the year a success.   

Congratulations to all student-athletes for their hard work and dedication!