10/16/2009 11:55

ROSEMONT – Senior captain Priyanka Reddy (Syosset, N.Y./Syosset) and first years Olesya Kuchma (St. Davids/Radnor) and Barbara Lally (Philadelphia/Penn Charter) joined an elite list of women’s tennis players in the Colonial States Athletic Conference’s end of the year awards. Reddy was named Women’s Tennis Player of the Year and was First Team All-Conference in first singles and was an honorable mention in doubles with first doubles partner Kuchma. Kuchma was also an honorable mention for her performance at second singles and Lally was named to the All-Sportsmanship Team.

The All-Conference team and Player of the Year Award are voted on by the coaches of the CSAC. This is Reddy’s fourth time on the All-Conference Team, earning first team spots in her first and sophomore years and second team in her junior year. She was named Player of the Year in all four of her collegiate years. 

This season, she went undefeated in regular and conference play with an overall record of 13-0 and a 10-0 conference record. She was named the CSAC Player of the Week twice for her solid play. She compiled an impressive 59-1 record over four years, losing her one match in the 2008 CSAC First Singles Championship Final.

Reddy and Kuchma were a potent combo at first doubles going 11-2 overall and 8-2 in the CSAC. Kuchma opened her career at Rosemont with an 11-2 overall record and 8-2 CSAC record. She was an honorable mention in the Player of the Week award as well for her outstanding play.

The All-Sportsmanship Team is comprised of one member from each conference team. This player is nominated by the team’s coach and must have shown strong character and sportsmanship throughout the year. Lally was the Raven’s fourth singles and third doubles player. In conference play Lally was 5-5 at third doubles and 4-8 in singles action. She was presence on the court working hard and showing respect and support for her teammates and opponents.

Congratulations to Reddy, Kuchma and Lally as well as the entire Rosemont Women’s Tennis team for its outstanding play throughout the year.