Rosemont Honors Athletics at Annual Presentation

04/28/2013 17:40

ROSEMONT, Pa. - The Rosemont College Department of Athletics hosted the presentation of awards for the 2012-2013 season this afternoon at McShain Hall. Athletic Director Lynn Rothenhoefer was the Master of Ceremonies for the occasion in which a record number of student-athletes were recognized for their performance over the past year.

A total of 67 student-athletes were recognized as CSAC All-Academic Team members. Fifty of those student-athletes were also named as Rosemont College Scholar-Athletes. In celebration of the team with the highest GPA earned for their season, the Athletic Director Team Honor Roll was presented to the combined Cross Country team for the third time in as many years. The Cross Country team had a combined 3.4403 GPA in a close battle with other programs for the award.

Following the scholastic awards, the members of the Rosemont Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (RSAAC) for 2012-2013 were recognized, and the executive members of the RSAAC were announced. President of the RSAAC for 2013-2014 will be Michael Manning ('15) while Kerry Hars ('15) will continue to work as the RSAAC Vice President for the coming year.

After the members of each team's CSAC All-Sportsmanship Awards were given, the ceremony turned from Academic to Athletic pursuits. In the Fall of 2012, nine Ravens were named as CSAC Player-of-the-Week or to the CSAC Weekly Honor Roll. Two players were named to the CSAC Honorable Mention Team (Dean Grisoff ('15) MLAX, Olesya Kuchma ('13) WTEN), seven were named to the All-CSAC Second Team (Rodney Aguirre ('14) MSOC, Amanda Botbyl ('13) WSOC, Erin Casey ('16) WXC, Nick Hulayew('13) MSOC, Kris Keegan GOLF, Ryan McElroy ('13) MSOC and Luke McIlvaine ('15) MSOC). Three players from the Fall season were named to the All-CSAC First Team (Ryan Hartzell ('13) MSOC, Pat McElroy ('13) MSOC, Lauren Whelan ('16) WSOC).

For the Winter (Basketball) season, Ashley Montecchio ('13) and Liz Coyne ('15) cleaned up, earning a combination of seven weeks of recognition as either CSAC Player of the Week or named to the CSAC Weekly Honor Roll. Derrick Carter ('14) made the All-CSAC Second Team while Coyne and Montecchio were named to the All-CSAC First Team. It was the first time that multiple Rosemont basketball players were named to the conference First Team in the same year.

All of Rosemont's Head Coaches were recognized while three were singled out for special recognition. Bob Thomas took a golf team in only its second year of existence into fourth place in the CSAC in 2012, earning Thomas the CSAC Coach-of-the-Year award. Men's Soccer Head Coach Will Nord earned his second Coach-of-the-Year kudos in his four years since starting the program. Long-time women's basketball Head Coach Andy McGovern was recognized for earning his 200th collegiate win this season across three institutions (Temple, University of the Sciences of Philadelphia and Rosemont).

While on the topic of basketball, Rosemont awarded game balls to the two players who made it into the 1,000-point scoring club in the 2012-2013 season. Justin Chaney ('13) became the first man to reach the milestone in Rosemont history. Liz Coyne hit the milestone in the team's final game of the season and became the first Rosemont player to reach the milestone in only her sophomore year.

Rosemont Athletics takes sportsmanship very seriously. That is why the department was pleased to announce that the Women's Cross Country team became the first team from Rosemont to earn the prestigious CSAC 3D Sportsmanship Award. A banner which will designate Rosemont as the winner in 2012 will stay on the Rosemont campus for a year, until next season's 3D award for Women's Cross Country is announced.

Rothenhoefer gave a particularly touching speech regarding the Men's Soccer team, the first team in Rosemont history to reach a championship game in the CSAC. The team has made the CSAC playoffs in the last two seasons and played in the championship game this year. It has shown some tremendous play over the four years that the program has been in existence.

Next, the regional and national awards were announced. Lauren Whelan was presented with her certificate from the NSCAA as she was named to the All-Region team for Women's Soccer in only her freshman year. Derrick Carter was given the Sam Cozen award earlier in the year. Ashley Montecchio was recognized as being named to the All-Mid-Atlantic team, and as honorable mention in the Womens DIII News. Montecchio leaves Rosemont as the program's all-time high scorer with 1,729 points.

Lauren Whelan received a plaque in recognition of her being named CSAC Rookie-of-the-Year for women's soccer in 2012 while Ashley Montecchio received a plaque as she became Rosemont's first basketball player to be named the CSAC Player-of-the-Year. Montecchio will also receive a plaque from the NCAA, as she was the nation's leading scorer for the past season. Dean Grisoff was announced as the NCAA's national leader in DIII for ground balls in the 2012 Men's Lacrosse season.

Finally, Rosemont's own major  awards were announced.

Ron Vogelei ('13) won the Cathy Mulvaney award for Sportsmanship & Character. The Ann S. Donaldson Award, recognizing Athletic and Academic Excellence was won this year by Klarisse Torriente ('14).

The Male Athlete-of-the-Year award was presented to Pat McElroy for Men's Soccer while the Female Athlete-of-the-Year was unsurprisingly awarded to Ashley Montecchio for Women's Basketball.

Rothenhoefer thanked the student-athletes and their families for their continued support and for the hard work which led to improvement across all of the athletic programs.