Student-Athletes Honored At 2010-11 Athletics Soiree

05/01/2011 11:39

PLYMOUTH MEETING, Pa. - Last evening the Rosemont Athletics Department paid tribute to their student-athletes, hosting a crowd of 160 at the annual Athletics Banquet.

Director of Athletics, Lynn Rothenhoefer presided over the proceedings for the night which was started with a welcoming speech by Rosemont President Sharon Latchaw Hirsh ('70).

Presentations were made by each team's coaches and team captains. A key highlight of these presentations was from the representatives of Rosemont's Field Hockey team. 2010 marked the 85th and final season for the Rosemont Field Hockey program. The members of Rosemont's final field hockey team signed a commemorative hockey stick that will represent the end of one era of Rosemont Athletics.

Thirty-seven student athletes across ten teams were acknowledged for being Rosemont Scholar-Athletes while forty-two student-athletes across ten teams were recognized for earning All-CSAC academic honors.

The Athletic Director Team Honor Roll, awarded to the team with the highest combined grade point average, was won by the Men's & Women's combined Cross Country team with a 3.50 GPA. The team accepted the award which will be on display in the lobby of Alumnae Hall.

Recognition of Rosemont's four athletes who earned letters in three different sports in the same academic year were announced and the student-athletes were provided with certificates and flowers. The four student-athetes, all seniors, who qualified for this special recognition were:

  • Christa Bednarek: Volleyball, Basketball, Softball
  • Karen Boyle: Volleyball, Basketball, Lacrosse
  • Heather Daneker: Cross Country, Basketball, Softball
  • Greg Gardner: Cross Country, Basketball, Golf

All-CSAC Athletic Awards were presented to ten student-athletes who were named to All-Conference teams and/or weekly awards during their teams' seasons.

Rosemont is providing an increased emphasis on sportsmanship, and so the winners of the CSAC All-Sportsmanship teams were given special recognition this year. Ten student-athletes across 11 sports were provided with such recognition. They were:

  • Karen Boyle (Women's Basketball)
  • Lisanne Brown (Women's Cross Country)
  • Kayla Coad (Women's Tennis)
  • Jairo Colon (Men's Cross Country)
  • Ashley Conti (Field Hockey, Women's Lacrosse)
  • Ciara Figliuolo (Volleyball)
  • Greg Gardner (Men's Basketball)
  • Will McLaughlin (Men's Soccer)
  • Kriss Muff (Softball)
  • Ron Vogelei (Men's Tennis)

Rosemont Head Trainer Suzanne Donaghue presented Field Hockey's head coach, Lynn Rothehoefer, with the CSAC Coach-of-the-Year award. Rothenhoefer was selected for this award by her CSAC peers in recognition of the fine job that the Field Hockey team did to represent themselves in the conference this past season. The last Rosemont coach to earn Coach-of-the-year honors was Will Nord (2009 Men's Soccer).

The major individual awards were then handed out to the student-athletes.

The winner of the final Ann Grady Lucas award, voted on by Field Hockey players and coaches, was first year Taylor Morgan. The criteria for the award is that it be given to “a special field hockey player who has shown a commitment to the betterment of her team through her sportsmanship, leadership, work ethic and loyalty to Rosemont College field hockey.”

The winner of the Cathy Mulvaney award, voted on by student-athletes, coaches and athletics staff, was senior Ashley Conti. The criteria for this award is "as evidenced by teamwork in athletics, enthusiasm and spirit in team sports, sportsmanlike conduct in games, overall support for all college sports and fellow student-athletes, and dedication to individual excellence in sports and all aspects of personal development."

The winners of the Male and Female Outstanding Athletes of the Year were than announced. These athletes are nominated by their head coaches and voted on by a special committee. The winners of the 2010/2011 awards were:

  • Outstanding Male Athlete: Justin Chaney, Sophomore (Basketball)
  • Outstanding Female Athlete: Christa Bednarek, Senior (Volleyball, Basketball, Softball)

Finally, the winner of the Ann S. Donaldson Award was announced. The nominees are voted on by the entire college community. The winner of the 2010/2011 Donaldson Award was Karen Boyle. The criteria for the Donaldson Award is "the junior or senior student-athlete who has displayed excellence in the classroom and on the playing field.  The athlete must have had at least three years of varsity experience, a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.20, and have been a key contributor to her team." It was the second consecutive time that Boyle had captured the award, and the second student-athlete to win in consecutive years.

Congratulations to all of Rosemont's student-athletes for their efforts in the games and in the community, and for awards won in the 2010-2011 academic year.