04/19/2010 09:53

ROSEMONT, Pa. – Nine student-athletes and a member of the athletic department staff were honored at the annual Founder’s Day Luncheon Thursday, April 15th. The banquet honors students and staff leaders on campus and honors the college’s founding in 1921.

To get things started, President Hirsh honored Athletic Director Lynn Rothenhoefer with the Community Spirit Award for her dedication to the institution, its mission as well as the student-athletes. It was the first time Rothenhoefer had earned the honor individually, the athletic department earned the honor in 2008. 

Dean of Students Deidre Shaffer followed by giving the Class Leadership Awards. This award is given out to a student from each class who has shown strong leadership throughout the year for his or her class and the institution. Field Hockey and Lacrosse players Chelsea Reeve (Pennsuaken, N.J.) and Lindley Rittweger (Newburgh, N.Y.) received the honor for the first year and senior classes respectively.

Dean Shaffer followed this by honoring senior field hockey player Alex Benfold (Cherry Hill, N.J.), junior basketball player Greg Gardner (Sharon Hill, Pa.) and first year tennis, basketball and lacrosse player Kate Clarkson (Bensalem, Pa.) with the Dean of Students Award.

Senior field hockey and lacrosse player Elizabeth Kemp (Williamstown, N.J.) was honored with the Love in Action Award from Campus Ministry. Kemp, an active member in the ministry has shown dedication to the community throughout the year through various community service projects.

The banquet also honored the newly elected 2010-2011 Student Government Association Executive Board. Junior volleyball, basketball and lacrosse player Karen Boyle (Swarthmore, Pa.) was elected Vice President of Academics while sophomore field hockey and lacrosse player Caitlin Edgar (Browns Mills, N.J.) was elected Vice President of Communications.

In addition, the Rosemont Student-Athlete Advisory Committee was recognized by Student Activities as a top club on campus.

Congratulations to Lynn Rothenhoefer and all student-athletes for their awards and accomplishments.